How to GUI in Defold

How to GUI in Defold

Intro

:star2: Hello! I’m Insality :star2:

In this thread, I’ll be sharing some notes on How to make GUI in Defold. I’ve been working with Defold for over 6 years now, and during this time, I’ve gained a lot of experience with GUI. I hope some of my notes can be helpful for you! Feel free to share your own tips and notes as well.

A big part of this section will be about Druid, as I believe it can make your GUI life much easier if you use it correctly.

Please note that everything I mention here is based on my opinion and my best practices. You may have a different approach, which is also good. Feel free to share your experiences too! Let’s build the good user experience manual about GUI in Defold.

GUI Layout

This section is about the overall GUI layout in Defold without any library. I’ll share my workflow with GUI and some tips that can be applied to make GUI layouts for game scenes, game windows, Druid components, and other UI elements.

How To Layout

Root Node

Every GUI file in the project should have a root node, and only this node should be at the top of the GUI hierarchy. The presence of a root node offers several advantages, including easier transformation, convenient control and simplified management of the GUI elements within the hierarchy. By maintaining a consistent practice of including a root node, you can ensure better organization and efficiency when working with GUI layouts throughout your project.

This root node usually has an empty texture, is not visible, has a stretched adjust mode, and is placed in the center of the GUI (it’s applied for game scenes and game windows).

The stretch adjust mode helps to keep this node always in the center of the game screen without any code.

Also, this root node is always defined in any gui_script or Druid component. So the root node is always accessible to the component.