Defold Editor redesign request

DEFOLD EDITOR REDESIGN REQUEST

Hello! My name is Dmitry and I’m a graphic designer (mainly). In addition I do programming for web development. I recently started developing games as a hobby. And for this I chose the Defold game engine because I like the Lua language. I really like how quickly I can prototype with Defold. But after working for two weeks, I found that the interface could be better and more convenient and then I (and many others) could make games even faster.

So I decided to make a quick sketch of what can be improved in my opinion. The main problem of the interface is that it uses space inappropriately and everything looks very large on my laptop, so I have to hide and open the panels or change their sizes in order to win some useful space.

This is my attempt to improve the editor’s usable space — Figma.
I will be very happy if these changes appear in future updates.

There are actual panels around the design.

Thank you for your attention and have a nice day!

5 Likes

Welcome @Strash! Some thoughts I have on your mockup:

For a large project you will likely have both a long list of Assets and probably also complex scenes which will result in a long Outline. Wouldn’t it be harder to get a good overview if the Assets and Outline is in the same panel?

Another thought. When you select something in the Outline (or in the scene) the properties for that component or node is shown in the Properties panel. This makes me think that there’s a closer connection between Outline and Properties than between Assets and Outline, and to me it makes more sense to have Outline+Properties together like they are today.

One improvement I can think of is to hide/minimize the Properties panel when nothing is selected. This would give me more space for the Outline.

1 Like