[SOLVED] How to export Blender animation to DAE and import into Defold

Hi Defold team

I’m new to Defold and am learning to make my first game. I have a single animated mesh object in Blender that I’m trying to bring into Defold. So far it’s not working: I can either import the model in its default pose without any animations or can’t import it at all (error ".dae could not be loaded).

I’ve looked at the documentation, tried baking the animation, used various collada export settings… nothing seems to work.

Attached is the blender file I’m working with. I can’t find any tutorials or documetation to make this work… :cold_sweat:

I’m looking forward to making 3D games with Defold and would like to learn how to do this right. Thanks

enemy_animated2.zip (123.1 KB)

1 Like

Hey, welcome!

Defold is predominantly a 2D game engine. I’d recommend reading through this thread before diving into 3D game making with Defold:

1 Like

Hi @zeke_chan , welcome

As Defold is really not good solution for 3d games. At what kind of 3d game you want to make it depends, But here your solution for exporting dae file from blender

export settings for animation it worked for me

3 Likes

Hey @totebo , thanks for the warm welcome. Yes I’m aware Defold is mainly a 2D game engine. However, I’m more focused on creating hypercasual games rather than full fledged 3d games. Thanks for sharing the discussion link.

1 Like

Thanks @vikash ! I’ll try that out and hope it works

1 Like

That’s great. Then Defold is most likely a great fit. Good luck and look forward to seeing your games in the future!

Hello, I’m still stuck with trying to export my blender animation to collada and bringing it into Defold. I’ve been trying for days now and it’s still not working. If someone could help me resolve this and show me how its done, I would be willing to pay $50 for your time.