Scrolling background approach

Hi,

I’m adding a sideways one-way scrolling background to my game. The graphics will change as the scrolling progresses.

My plan is to use two large identical bitmaps side by side that “loop” and then replace them when needed.

In terms of performance, which of these methods are best?

a) Use a factory to create and unload bitmaps on the fly.
b) Create all bitmaps in the IDE and disable/enable them with code as needed.

I’m new to Defold, so do let me know if there are better ways to create a scrolling background!

Cheers,

Niclas

If someone smart could figure out how to fix this Correct UV offset of full screen repeating texture then it could be used. Then you would only need a single texture that you offset as you scroll, and doing parallax layers would be super easy too.

I was initially looking to use a single texture, and replacing the texture as needed. I found this discussion:

This is beyond my skills, because it relies on shaders, which, as anyone knows, is impenetrable black magic.

So, I’m trying to figure out whether keeping game objects on stage and disabling/enabling them would work best in my case, or if creating them on the fly with Factory is likely to work better. My gut tells me Factory, because it would be more scalable.

1 Like

Both approaches will probably work well. I would consider a few things:

• How do you plan to author your levels or do you plan to generate the layout automatically somehow?
  • How long will your level be? Going far enough from origo you will lose precision and things will start to jitter. You can postpone this by increasing precision in shaders but if you allow your player to go far enough (like in an endless runner) it will eventually be a problem. The solution is to keep the player close to origo and move the world instead of moving the player.
  • How many game objects do you anticipate you will have to manage?

Hi @sicher, thanks for the response!