Prototyping 2D games with customizable shapes

Hi everyone,

I get that the Sprite component requires an Image (atlas) and a Default animation (defined as part of the atlas). I was thinking that would be nice to have some default shapes (triangle, circle, rectangle, etc) that we could pick as an alternative to creating an atlas. That would be used to rapidly prototype mechanics without relying on pre-existing art. So my question is: how can I create (either using code or the editor) game objects defining shape and color instead of depending on pre existing art?

I just started learning Defold, so maybe I’m missing some workflow knowledge.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

We’ve discussed different ways to provide basic drawing primitives for prototyping. One option would be to ship an atlas containing some basic shapes in the builtins folder that comes with each project. This could be solid rectangles, squares, triangles and circles of various shapes. Or we could ship an atlas with some art from Kenney.nl (https://kenney.nl/).

Another alternative is that we provide a few variations of mesh components in builtins for the different shapes.

And a third option is some basic model components. This option is discussed in the following PR: https://github.com/defold/defold/pull/5138

The above alternatives are definitely things we’d like to discuss and work out with community members such as yourself to ensure that we provide meaningful prototype assets. I’d be happy to hear more input from the community on this!

2 Likes

I think that plus a color picker in the editor would be great!
Thanks for the quick reply! :smiley:

2 Likes

I was taking a look at the rendering API and noticed that there’s a draw_line function. Is there a reason to not include others such as: set_pixel, draw_rect, draw_triangle, draw_circle, etc?