Pirate Battle

Hey everyone!

First of all, want to say very big thanks to developers and team of Defold! My name is Nikita Borisov, I’m a programmer of TinyDobbins team, (before we called NSBrotherhood). and made such flash games as Lazerman, Tesla Defense, WizardWalls
the current project also is gunfight.io client side made on PhaserJS, the server side on NodeJS+Colyseus

a couple months ago we decided that it’s time to make mobile games.
Before I’ve tried the Unity, and one thing that I want to say, when I trying to do something in Unity … wanna kill everyone, very hate this tools :smiley: terrible experience.
but with Defold I wanna love everyone :cat: Defold seems to be the engine i was looking for.

now I working on making the port of old game made by Martijn Kunst.
we made the re-make on html5 (PhaserJS). How the game is looks, you can see video of gameplay that what I want to see as result in Defold.

after a couple weeks of learning of tutorials and docs of API with the help of @AGulev and @Dragosha and of course with the help of God :smiley: I made first step of porting:
rw1_port1

the next steps:

• add camera
  • add parallax of backround
  • add effects
  • aiming, showing the power of shot and first steps of the path of balls

the main issue that I faced right now is opportinity to flip the gameobject with spine model like
hero.scale.x = -1 in flash for example :smiley:
related topic of this issue: here and here
the temporary solution is to flip in the editor, but I add all objects dynamically.
I also tried:
go.set_rotation(vmath.quat_rotation_y(math.rad(180))) and go.set_rotation(vmath.quat_rotation_z(math.rad(180))) it just flip “top down”

thank you Defold!

15 Likes

Yay! Welcome to the forum and congrats on the progress you’re making on the game!

I was expecting this to work.

1 Like

I just tried now to remove the collision object, and that code works.
so looks like game object with physics and spine works weird together.

1 Like