How many sprites can you have on screen before slowdown?

Zombies!. I’m developing a zombie game, - think “robotron” for older devs. The objective is to have a scrollable tilemap (2 screens wide x 2 high"). Upto 200 Zombies will be on active / onscreen at any one time.
I’ve a demo developed but the engine is “crawling” to display and update. It’s really struggling.

Can the Defold engine support what I want? or is my code wrong?
I’ve a tile map with collisions set for walls against the zombies and player.
Tiles are 32x32, sprites are similar size.
Tile map is about 60 tiles x 40.

Is the number of collisions causing the slowdown? or it just purely the number of sprites?

Is the processing required too heavy?

I’ve tried the profiler, but can’t see the main culprit. It looks like the main gameloop/render is killing the time - but I’m relatively new to defold so I don’t know what that means.

Any suggestions?

200 sprites is usually perfectly fine. Maybe you have a few thousands of them off screen?

Hi Sergey, no - 205 is max. I’ll see if I can upload a video to show the problem.

Here’s a clip of the game slowing down on Instagram/Facebook - depending on which you have access to. You can see the video of what is happening.

INSTRAGRAM:

FACEBOOK

Yeah 200 should not be an issue. What kind of calculations are you doing in your update?
In this bunnymark benchmark with different method of moving sprites you can see what slows down the engine

2 Likes

thanks very interesting. This certainly can cope with the numbers.
Would it be the tilemap collisions? My game is getting no where near this framerate. I’ll check out the bunny code to see what I’m missing.

Lot’s of questions and hard to know exactly what’s wrong, but from your questions it’s possibly to deduce some information about your current implementation and guess what’s wrong.

You can have many thousands of sprites on the screen at the same time:

https://britzl.github.io/Bunnymark/