Creating A Five Nights At Freddy's Style Game In Defold

Five Nights At Freddy’s is a horror franchise with almost a 10 year history. It popularized the ‘sit and survive’ genre of game and even had a movie come out in October of 2023! A different engine has been traditionally used to make this style of game (and many fan games). I wanted to see if Defold was up for the task of creating something in this style.

I created a YouTube video showing off my process and the journey this game took me on. However, the video is aimed more towards entertainment and comedy. I want to use this forum post to get more into the technical side of things and share my experience.

Video Link:

Game Link:

Process:
I started with a template project I created last year. This template includes a basic character controller, settings menu, control rebinding, level loading, main menu, plus some other things. I can use this to quickly prototype and spin up projects.

Since I’m not an artist, and the artist I usually worked with was unavailable, I decided to try Ai art for the bulk of the main game (see more on this in the challenges section).

With the art in hand, I stitched together images and created the main room with a character controller. Creating the camera system ended up being a combination of a gui and loading in a game object. I was able to use the horror-lofi shader (see Libraries used) to get a solid camera feed effect.

In some cases I wasn’t able to find or use my limited knowledge of open-GL to create the effect I wanted. So I just had to create multiple images in some cases. This wouldn’t typically be an issue, but when images are 1152 x 648 each, that results in the project gaining a lot of size.