Webview loading linked files

Hi, Im pretty new to Defold, but loving it so far.
I have been using the Webview extension, and I can get remote pages working no problems. However when I try to use local pages with linked content (like bootstrap js and css files) Im not certain how to put them in the html.
What I have done:

• I made a folder (as recommended in the tutorial) and added it to the custom_resources for the project.
  • I then used sys.load_resource( “/custom_resources/tableview.html”) —> this works fine.

Within the tableview.html I have:
<link rel=“stylesheet” href=“refs:/custom_resources/bootstrap.min.css”>

I have tried refs:/ and file:/ and relative path etc. I cant seem to get anything to work.
This feels like it should be pretty simple . I would appreciate any help with this.
Thanks.

HI @dlannan!

What tutorial are you referring to?

custom_resources are put into our internal .darc file, in a custom format, and won’t be accessible by anything other than the engine itself, and the function sys.load_resources()

You can perhaps try using bundle_resourcesinstead, since then the resources will simply be put next to the executable (or the folder you specify), and then you should be able to refer to it.

1 Like

Hi Mathias,
The manual/tutorial here: https://defold.com/manuals/webview/
‘Opening and displaying a custom html page’

Thanks for the tip - I’ll try the bundle resources tonight.

2 Likes

Looks like bundle resources dont work either.
I might have a dig through the webview component and see whether it can access local files - maybe using the file:// mechanism or similar. It may be simply unsupported.
Im a bit surprised no-one has tried loading a local html file with webview that uses js or css files?

---- some additional notes ----
The code seems to indicate it should be able to access the applications ‘local’ storage. So the bundle_resources should technically work, assuming thats where they end up. Bit puzzling.