Trouble with Tile Map Collisions

Hello everyone,

So I have followed tutorials and read through the docs. In doing so I was trying to implement collisions between my Kinematic Player and the Tile Map. I am new to defold so excuse me if the solution ends up being a simple one.

My Player game object has a collisionobject that has a box shape.
My collision handling code for the player looks like this:

local function handle_geometry_contact(self, normal, distance)
	-- project the correction vector onto the contact normal
	-- (the correction vector is the 0-vector for the first contact point)
	local proj = vmath.dot(self.correction, normal)
	-- calculate the compensation we need to make for this contact point
	local comp = (distance - proj) * normal
	-- add it to the correction vector
	self.correction = self.correction + comp
	-- apply the compensation to the player character
	go.set_position(go.get_position() + comp)
	-- check if the normal points enough up to consider the player standing on the ground
	-- (0.7 is roughly equal to 45 degrees deviation from pure vertical direction)
	if normal.y > 0.7 then
		self.ground_contact = true
	end
	-- project the velocity onto the normal
	proj = vmath.dot(self.velocity, normal)
	-- if the projection is negative, it means that some of the velocity points towards the contact point
	if proj < 0 then
		-- remove that component in that case
		self.velocity = self.velocity - proj * normal
	end
end

function on_message(self, message_id, message, sender)
	if message_id == hash("contact_point_response") then
		print("we are colliding!")
		-- check if we received a contact point message. One message for each contact point
		if message.group == hash("default") then
			handle_geometry_contact(self, message.normal, message.distance)
		end
	end
end