Trouble building for iOS (Issue-4977)

Hi! I’m an iOS developer, but I’m new to Defold and I really enjoy working with it so far. I’m having some trouble creating a development build to test on my device, though. No matter what I seem to try, my app crashes as soon as I launch it.

The device logs show the same thing every time, no matter how I’ve built the app/what provisioning profile I’m using: Crash Logs Gist

I’m using the latest Defold/macOS/iOS/Xcode versions and tried a provisioning profile created on the Apple Developer site as well as pulling one from inside a clean Xcode app build as detailed in the Defold manual. I made sure to set the correct bundle identifier in game.project. I’m installing the built .ipa file from …/build/armv7-darwin via Xcode > Devices & Simulators. I even wiped my drive and reinstalled macOS to make sure there wasn’t a strange certificate/profile mismatch error, but I haven’t had any luck unfortunately :frowning:

I really hope someone can give me some pointers, because I’d love to be able to use Defold for a new app!

Failed to parse entitlements: AMFIUnserializeXML: duplicate dictionary key near line 12

Are you using custom entitlements for your app (using the ios.entitlements key in game.project)?
According to this code, Defold tries to merge the entitlements in your provisioning profile with the custom ones that you specify unless you also set ios.override_entitlements to 1.

Otherwise, check the entitlements in your provisioning profile. Maybe they actually are corrupt or something.

Thanks for your reply! :slight_smile: I’m not using any custom entitlements; I’m actually just trying to run the default mobile project from Defold that I created from New Project > Mobile game. The only thing I changed in game.project was my bundle identifier.

I compared my downloaded provisioning profile with the embedded.mobileprovision inside the ipa archive bundle, and they don’t appear to differ.