Steamworks-Defold extension doesn't work

The Steamworks-Defold extension does not work when installed the same way other extensions are installed (by adding the .zip link to game.project deps list). Why is this and can it be fixed?
Worsening this, the instructions on how to make it work are unclear and didn’t work for me. I made a GitHub issue probably half a year ago now and no solutions have come.
What am I supposed to do in this sort of situation?
I would wager that interacting with the Steam APIs, especially for achievements, is a common use case (not common enough to be a part of the engine core but common enough to easily add)
I am not a C developer, I have not studied CS in university, I am just a young game developer in training, and I do not understand how to debug such problems.

Can I get help from someone who does understand how the extension works, or better yet, could the extension be amended to not require such extra steps or to better explain the process?

Just read your issue on github, and if the method described as a solution is still working for them - the only other thing that I could see on the docs that might be different according to your description of how you’ve attempted to solve the problem is that maybe you missed the part where for the examples, you need to run the build using the provided .sh or .bat file. Doing this for your own project would go without saying but I could see how the lack of explicit instruction could be confusing? If that’s not it, the only other thing I could think of is not generating the API correctly - but the directory you point out in your issue on github matches the directory that the cp/copy commands in the .sh and .bat target.

2 Likes

Did you test bundling? It should work.

For building from the editor you need the libs in the right place. We put the required libs/dlls in the root project folder during dev. The script provided can do it for you but we do it manually.

files