Sprite optimization like NES games

Hello everyone, I just started my game development journey. Yesterday, while watching some videos about game design on YouTube, I found this video:

The method is so brilliant, and I keep wondering how I could do something like this in Defold. I might have gone ahead of myself since I am still a newbie, but I really cannot stop thinking about this. Does anyone know how to do this in Defold, or can it be easily done?

Thanks for help :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

LOL, I forgot the link :'3

1 Like

Yeah, that video is really cool and it is impressive what they achieved. But doing the same in Defold seems pretty pointless to be honest. Modern games are usually optimised in totally different ways and for different reasons than for the hardware of 8-bit consoles.

If you want to do this for fun and for the challenge then you can use Defold tilemaps to build the visuals of your game, including the player character, enemies etc. The end result will perhaps use a bit less texture memory, but will in every other aspect be less optimized and performant on modern hardware.

2 Likes

Thank you for the reply :stuck_out_tongue:
Yeah, I just really want to know how to do this for fun.
Perhaps this would be more useful if the game’s visuals were 2D hand-drawn like Hollow Knight?

I actually used this in my game a little bit, but I later found out it was totally unnecessary.

I think the important thing to remember here is that defold has many tricks which are just as cool. personally as a beginner I was impressed by how Atlases are automatically shifted to be square numbers. However, the plain truth is that those old tricks from the NES era are just not necessary any more.

A smart guy named britzl once told me that a 2048*2048 texture takes up only 16mb. I would guess that’s the same size as every super mario game on the nes and the SNES put together :rofl:

3 Likes