Spawning specific sprites

First of all please forgive me, as I only even heard of Defold yesterday. I have worked my way through the tutorials. I am a seasoned python programmer.

I am creating a simple GUI interface that will create a specific sprite depending on the key that is press. The key pressing delivers the correct key pressed, but I cannot work out how to spawn a specific sprite.

I have all the sprites loaded into a factory based on a prototype. I can spawn using the factory, but when the user presses a key, ALL the sprites spawned by the factory are generated and I cannot work out how to spawn just the sprite that I want to appear.

The code I am using is:

local component = “/createNumbers#numbersFactory”
factory.create(component, p)

This works, but displays ALL the sprites in the prototype.

Say I wanted to load a sprite in the game object prototype with an ID of 1. Is there any way of doing this?

local component = “/createNumbers#numbersFactory#1”
factory.create(component, p)

produces an error.

I don’t want to have to set up a prototype and factory for every single sprite, and I assume there is a better way of doing this?

The answer is probably really obvious, but as I said I only started with defold yesterday, so apologies again …

• You should make a distinction between game object and sprite.
  • As opposed to some other engines, sprites in Defold are not objects, they are just components of an object.
  • If you want to spawn different things, for a example first a character, then a building, and then a car: then these should probably be different game objects, not the same game object with changing sprites.
    • The reason being that these objects will behave completely differently, they will have different colliders, different scripts, and so on.
    • For different game objects then you precisely need different factories, one for each.