Passing large table through msg.post()

Hi. I’m generating randomized terrain using Perlin Noise and drawing to a 1024 x 512 cavas, pixel by pixel. When an attack is used which damages the terrain, or when the level is being played with during generation (such as flood_fill() algorithms and such) I need to send a msg with the pixels to edit to the canvas.script game object. Since sending lots of pixels in a table gives me an error (table too large to pass), how should I go about doing this? I’m thinking maybe use Lua modules, but I’m not super experienced in this area. Is this a good idea?

Thanks for reading. I’m new to Defold and this website, but I’ve gotta say this is one of the best places I’ve experienced for getting quality help and quick replies. I’m trying to contribute here whenever I can.

Yes, definitely keep the datastructure in a Lua module and use messages to communicate changes to the data.

Okay, thank you for the confirmation. I’ll probably need a queue in the case that multiple canvas requests are issued during a single frame.

This is a little bit off topic, but still concerns Lua module usage: when it comes to Defold, how do you recommend I manage scripts that need to run every once in a while, but don’t necessarily need their own game object? For example, I have one game object called “stage_generator.” This guy has a “stage_generator.script” attached, which generates a stage. I have a second game object called “canvas” and has a “canvas.script” attached, which responds to “stage_generator”'s request for the stage to be drawn.