Moving a game object to a target position (SOLVED)

Hey everyone, I’m new to Defold so I’m just working my way through basic stuff before moving onto actual projects.

Right now I’m trying to move a “player” game object to a target position defined in self.target. Basically I’m trying to make the player move to where I tap.

Both the position and self.target are vectors, and I don’t know much vector math or trigonometry at all, so I’m struggling to find any kind of possible solution to this. I’m aware of go.animate(), but I need the player to move at a constant speed rather than defining a duration for a tween, hence why I’ve turned to vector math.

What would be the solution to this? Do I need to use vector math, or does Defold have a function I can use for this? If the answer is vector math, can you explain how the math works?

Any help is appreciated.

https://www.pkeod.com/defold/2D-FOV-Field-of-View/

Do you want the movement to be similar to this?

That’s almost exactly what I want, all I’d change is to make the player move to the target position on a single tap instead of needing to hold.

I’m taking a break for now, but I might be able to figure it out just by looking at that code, so thanks.

Yes, you need to learn a bit of vector math. (There are plenty of easy going resources on this online, here’s one)

In this case, you have two points (which are represented as vector3), and to figure out how to move from one point to the other, you need the difference between the two.

local diff = self.target - go.get_position()

This new vector is not really a new position but a direction, and the length of that vector is the distance. If you add a bit of that direction to your position each frame, you will end up at the target position.

local oldpos = go.get_position()
local diff = self.target - oldpos
-- move 10% of the remaining distance each frame
local newpos = go.get_position() + diff * 0.1
go.set_position(newpos)