Moving 8 directions Sprite

Hi,
I am new in Defold and I am creating a game right now. But i already tried all the ways but i can-t do my Player moves to all directions with his animations. Please if you can help me out

Did you check the Examples page? There’s an 8-way movement example. Bonus: I have an example of how to rotate and move a game object in a top-down game.

2 Likes

@britzl I checked that, but the player just move with the same animation and dont change

Ah, ok, so the animations aren’t changing but the movement is working? When you’re dealing with sprite flipbook animations (which I assume is looping) you can only trigger the animation once. If you send a play_animation message every frame the animation will get stuck on the first frame. You need to keep track of the current animation that is playing and play an animation if it differs from the current one. Like this: https://github.com/britzl/publicexamples/blob/master/examples/play_animation/play_animation/play_animation.script#L3-L9

1 Like

@britzl thank you very much for your help. The player is already moving to all directions with the sprites. But when i’m not pressing any key, the player don’t return to the idle animation i want and returns to the same idle animation always. And i think the player is not moving in all directions with the same speed, like when he moves Up and Down the speed is more higher than when he moves left and right.

The code is down there:

go.property("speed", 200)

local function play_animation(self, animation)
      if self.current_animation ~= animation then
        self.current_animation = animation
        msg.post("#sprite", "play_animation", { id = animation })
      end
end

function init(self)
    msg.post(".", "acquire_input_focus")
    self.direction = vmath.vector3(0,0,0)
    self.actions = {} 
    self.current_animation = nil
end

function final(self)
    msg.post(".", "release_input_focus")
end

function update(self, dt)