Lua optimization

Just out of curiosity, since I am not a lua expert.

Is this fragment

local x
    for i = 1, 1000 do
        x = ...something...
    end

faster then this

for i = 1, 1000 do
        local x = ...something...
    end

My apologize for the (most probably) silly question…

1 Like

It is just as easy to test by getting the time before and after the loops.

I think yes, there’s a lot of create & release variables in the second one (just my guess)

On my system the following

local y
	local x
	for i = 1, 10000000 do
		x = i*i / 1000.0
		y = y + x
	end

is 0.5 millisecond faster then the version with local inside the loop. I measured the time with socket.gettime. Note that 0.1 millisecond is the precision of socket.gettime.

Conclusion: the time difference is 0.5 * 10^{-7} per loop cycle. I would say it is negligible for any reasonable use of lua as a scripting language.

3 Likes

In this case, the local variable is being created and destroyed with each pass through the loop, correct? It seems to me that this is not good.

The test say the difference is sooooo small :slight_smile:

It doesn’t matter. The time difference is insignificant.

I ran the following functions a million times, in alternating passes

local function empty()  end

local function upvalue()
	local x
	for i = 1, 1000 do
		x = i
	end
end

local function localvalue()
	for i = 1, 1000 do
		local x = i
	end
end

The times (in seconds) for each, summed up:

Total Iterations: 1000000
tests for ‘empty’ run in: 0.0099935930000018
tests for ‘localvalue’ run in: 0.280853607
tests for ‘upvalue’ run in: 0.281357203

The relative difference is only a fraction of a percent, in a million calls, and also far less than simply calling an empty function for the same number of times.
There is no difference.

3 Likes