Local variable in function

Hi,

I’m new to defold and .lua scripting. I want to know if it is a good idea to set a local variable in a function like in my example below:

function rotate()
	local colorwheel = msg.url("colorwheel")
	local spinner = msg.url("spinner")
	go.animate(colorwheel, "euler.z", go.PLAYBACK_LOOP_BACKWARD, 360,go.EASING_LINEAR, 2.0)
	go.animate(spinner, "euler.z", go.PLAYBACK_LOOP_FORWARD, 360,go.EASING_LINEAR, 2.0)
end

Everytime I execute the rotate function will it create a local variable and is it a good practice to set my go.animate’s url = to my local variable?

Thank you.

This does not affect the performance in any noticable way at all. Local variables in Lua are really, really quick. While you don’t necessarily need it, and while readability is not really improved nor made worse in my eyes, at least, it is completely up to you. If you can read the code faster with it - go ahead.

2 Likes

Thats good to know.
Will it make any difference if you use a string or the local variable as the go.animate’s url?

My concern is the use of strings, because I know the trouble of strings in Unity3D.

The strings are hashed by the engine. I assume every frame though so if you pre-hash it’s faster. (What is the actual source of the builtin hash function?)

You can use a hash instead of a string, and then hash your strings once to get their hashes.

This version of a kind of helper function for this is the easiest to use IMO https://github.com/subsoap/ahash

For urls you would use it like ahash[“url”]

Anyone with access to the Defold source could give a definitive answer on what’s best to use. A string may be just as fast.

3 Likes

There is a cost associated with creating new url objects, and a slight difference if you reuse hashes. In tight loops this may matter. On my machine i get the following results on 1 million iterations. The difference may be bigger or smaller on a handheld.

for i=1,1000000 do
	test(msg.url("hello"))
end