Launch different dialogues [Defold + Arcweave + DefArc] (solved)

Hello all :grinning:

I’m new to Defold, Arcweave, and DefArc. Please bare with me; I’m learning every day a bit more :slight_smile:

I hope someone can advise me on creating the basic code structure for a 2D dialogue game I started developing.

I followed a video tutorial from Unfolding Defold on making basic interactive dialogs in Defold. And I was wondering what the best way is to create the following:

I want to create stand-alone Arcweave boards per character and export them to JSON. (every character has its JSON file) And I want to start a character dialogue randomly or based on something that happened in the game.

Two questions:

1. How to not display the dialogue anymore after the player finishes it?

I was thinking about writing a function that removes the dialogue from the screen instead of hiding it. Is this better for in-game memory usage?

1. How do you launch a new dialogue after the first is finished? Let’s say after 30 seconds.

Maybe someone can share a simple timer.delay() code snippet with me that launch a new JSON file?

At the moment I have the following code:

local defarc = require "defarc.defarc"

local small_node = vmath.vector3(0.9)
local normal_node = vmath.vector3(1)
local options = {}

function show_text_and_options()
	-- Get and set text:
	local text = defarc.get_text()
	local node = gui.get_node("game")
	gui.set_text(node, text)

-- Get and set options:
	options = defarc.get_options_table()

for i = 1,4 do
		local option_text = options[i] and options[i].label or ""
		local option_node = gui.get_node("option"..i)
		gui.set_text(option_node, option_text)
		gui.get_blend_mode(node)
	end
end

function init(self)
	msg.post(".", "acquire_input_focus")
	defarc.load("/assets/character-1.json")

local starting_element = defarc.get_starting_element_id()

defarc.select_element(starting_element)

show_text_and_options()
end

-- hide hide_dialogue function