Jill Endless Run

Hello everyone!

I have been thinking a lot on whether to start this Dev Diary or not, but after reading the post “King driven opportunities for teams using Defold” I made up my mind, so here I go.

I am Edgar, I am new to Defold and Lua and I have always loved game programming, although I have never published one.

I have a 12 year old daughter with whom I am happily interacting to remake a game she used to play in my old 386 when she was 4 or so. The game is ‘Jill of the Jungle’, a 256-colored VGA graphics DOS platformer sidescroller with no graphic violence, nice sound effects, and a delightful musical sound track by Dan Froelich.

I think it was Epic Megagames’s first platform game and it was released during the same period as Commander Keen and Duke Nukem. It’s a light-hearted game for the whole family and that’s what I like about it. It is perfect to be implemented as a casual game.

So when I found Defold, I was trying to do a remake of that game, but now that I have gone through most of the tutorials and examples, I think I’ll stay with the ‘Getting Started Tutorial’ and now I want to make an endless runner, thus Jill Endless Run.

4 Likes

Original concept and story (extracted from online reviews)

Concept

Jill of the Jungle is a platform sidescroller game where the player takes the role of the titular character: an amazon woman who can use various types of weapons and enhancements as she progresses through levels solving puzzles, slaying monsters and finding keys in order to advance.

• The weapons she can use if she is so lucky to find them are a knife and spinning blade.
  • The enhancements provide Jill’s most distinguishing ability: morphing into different creatures, such as a flaming bird, a leaping frog and a fish who can shoot bullets, which allow her to explore specific areas.
  • Levels often feature platform structures that must be navigated precisely by making jumps.