I can't paste assets into my project

Just started the tutorial project, got the project opened and already used the atlas editor and the next step was to import the getting-started-assets.

I downloaded them, and I can open each image locally, so I know they exist. When I copy them in a file browser and try to paste them into my project, I get errors that the 'resource [whatever] not found on filesystem, which is weird because they definitely do exist.

I looked at the Properties tab, and the file exists on cr.defold.se:9998, no telling what that is, but that’s obviously why it can’t find my file.

So how do I get my files into my project, and is there a way to decouple the experience from defold.se and just operate locally?

Thanks in advance for help, I’m new to defold but I’m excited about all the cool stuff going on with the platform lately, so I want to get my hands dirty and make some things.

EDIT: In case it matters, I’m on 64bit linux, using whatever the Downloads page has for the old editor, not the Defold 2 preview.

What if you copy the files to the correct location via the terminal or a file browser? The location of your project files can be found by right clicking game.project and selecting “Show in Finder” or the equivalent option on Linux.

The correct location is not on my computer. It’s on cr.defold.se.

I realized that I chose “Open From Dashboard” when I tried Defold 2.

I was just coming back to this post just now to report that I solved this by re-opening in Defold 2 and choosing From Disk.

I still can’t it to work properly in the old editor…

I can probably figure out enough to just use the new editor anyways, Was able to add the images from the asset package and pushed it already and everything.

I’m confused. If you are stuck copying the getting started assets to the correct location then that correct location would be locally on disk, not on cr.defold.se (they might end up there eventually though).