How to reduce html5 output size

Hi friends
I’m new to Defold. I like to use it for html5 game. I made simple single scene with just two 32X32 sprites. after exporting it as html5 application it’s 7.1 MB. It’s big size for this simple html5. how can i reduce output size for html5 game in defold?
Thanks

Agreed, that doesn’t sound quite right.

What is the size of the images you used for the sprites? Also 32x32?

You can generate a build report to understand what’s in your application: https://defold.com/manuals/bundling/#build-reports

Also this doc about size optimisation: https://defold.com/manuals/optimization/#optimize-application-size

2 Likes

Please, make sure you build your game in release mode.
Also, in folder with html5 game you have 2 versions of the engine: wasm and asmjs. The end-user downloads only one, usually it’s wasm, if wasm doesn’t support on user’s platform, then asmjs.
That’s why it’s better to check how much you download in your browser inspector or remove the biggest js file from your folder with asmjs version of the engine and check folder size after (but don’t forget to restore it when you upload your build).

1 Like

Thanks britzl, I’ll read them, all my sprites are 400 bytes at all.
I see “default.gamepadsc” is 53393 and “assets.texturec” is 43788. These are biggest parts in report file.
Should i exclude them using Defold App Manifest generator? !

Those numbers seem pretty reasonable to me.
What if you open the folder and look at the file sizes “manually”, what do they say?

Thanks AGulev, Yes it’s in release mode. I see both those files you said.
I’m not sure i understand what you mean well, I have three file there:
file.wasm : 2.18 MB
file_asmjs.js : 4.61 MB
file_wasm.js: 344 KB
as you say maybe i don’t need file_asmjs.js to upload but without this file some platforms may not work and some other works?