Help understanding how to move a Camera

Hello Defold people,

I need help understanding how to properly move a camera. I am still very green with defold and coding. I am trying to move the camera instead of moving the entire background and all the go’s(which works but wouldn’t it be easier on rendering if I just move the camera?). When I move the camera using “aquire_camera_focus”, I cannot click on my character to move him again? Also, what is the best way to get two scripts to talk to each other?

Sorry, I am still new to all this, I appreciate all of your patience. :slight_smile:

For cameras it would be much easier if you used something like Orthographic or RenderCam instead of doing the harder bits by yourself.

You can have scripts send each other messages with msg.post() or you can use a Lua module that both require and share data that way.

2 Likes

Did you check the Camera example?

2 Likes

Thanks guys,

That helps a ton and I will check out the camera example.

Hello again,

I started using the orthographic camera you had suggested and when I add it to my dependencies and render script I can no longer click on the go I created to click somewhere else to move him. Then I remove the orthographic camera from the collection and default the render script and it starts running properly. What is the reason it is doing this? Please let me know what else you need from me to help me out.

Thanks

You most likely need to filter the input

1 Like

What does your input code look like to detect the click?

1 Like

This passes over to another script I have that then moves the orthographic/camera/.go

if action_id == hash(“down”) then
msg.post("/camera#script", “down”)
elseif action_id == hash(“up”) then
msg.post("/camera#script", “up”)
elseif action_id == hash(“right”) then
msg.post("/camera#script", “right”)
elseif action_id == hash(“left”) then
msg.post("/camera#script", “left”)
end