Help needed with 2d platformer lights

I am working on a 2d platformer where once a player goes below y=0 world darkens and they shoulb be able to use a flashlight to see in the dungeon. I followed 2D lights and shadows sample - #20 by Haath to get where i am with my implementation today. I am very new to game dev (few months) and Defold is my first game engine.

• Currently the light cone is rendered correctly and light collisions with tiles is working as expected
  • I am also rendering entire world to RT and applying ambient color in the shader to make entire screen darker when user goes below y=0

My issue: I cannot figure out a way how to render the world behind the light cone when the whole screen is dark.

• I have tried passing a world texture to the fragment shader that draws the light, which works but the issue is that this texture is an entire screen whereas i only need it to be whats behind the light.
  • I have attempted to render a small square around the player to an RT in hopes to pass that as texture but i honestly have no idea if its possible or not and it didnt really work…

Below area. a few screenshots of the current state. Any tips or help is appreciated.

Here is the branch for my code https://github.com/BetweenTwoPines/subterra-scavengers/compare/main...lighting-poc

It a bit of a mess as i probably have refactored everything a million times and at this point its pure frustration…

1 Like

I am relatively new t lights myself. Do you have an example of what it is you wish to accomplish?

Yeah, in the forum post that i linked above, the very last post has the image that shows light cone with visible background inside of it while everything else is dark

You can see in my game examples above, the light cone kind of works, but its sampling the entire world rather whats behind it.

what is the color level / value of your ambient color? If you set it to complete blackout { vmath.vector4(0,0,0,1) }, what happens?