Going From Unity to complete Defold newb - need help

Hi I’ve had a quick scout and I can’t find anything quite what I’m looking for but if there are forum posts already like what I’m about to ask then I do apologize and please point me in that direction…

Now with that said I’ve been hearing nothing but praise for Defold but I have really been struggling to find tutorial series, game showcases and overall an in-depth explanation on if I should use Defold other than simply hearing its good for 2d mobile and web games.

I am a hobbyist who would like to become an indie game dev someday, but with that said at the moment I have casually over the past few years followed many unity tutorials and got reasonably good with C#.

I would like to know where I should start as someone familiar with unity for which tutorials to follow, I came across this tutorial series but it’s over 4 years old:

My intention is to make F2P casual mobile games including Infinite Runners and I’m struggling to find what exactly are the types of games Defold can actually make, and how limited is the LUA programming language.

I know this post is a bit of a long winded mess but I’m hoping someone can help me from feeling completely in the dark and help me understand if defold is right for me and where to start.

Thanks

2 Likes

There are tutorials listed here: Defold manuals and other learning resources
github examples at the bottom of the page.
Start Defold and click on NewProject->fromTutorial->SideScrollerTutorial etc
Endless runner

2 Likes

Welcome to Defold!

I see that you are approaching this as a Unity developer :slight_smile: A four year old Unity tutorial would likely not work in the latest version of Unity since Unity has a habit of introducing big breaking changes each year.

That is not how Defold works. We do monthly releases and only very rarely break stuff, and usually not in a big way. I am very confident that the tutorial you found is relevant and worth following.