Get_tile should return the tile type as well as the ID

I notice get_tile for tilemap only returns the ID. However, what if we want to add some metadata to our tiles via the tile types in the tilesource editor? I don’t see a way to use this data in the API in the documentation here: https://defold.com/ref/tilemap/#tilemap.get_tile:url-layer-x-y

If/when we add that feature to the tilemaps, then we’ll probably add new functions to access that data. But until then, I think the simplest way of doing it is a separate Lua table with entries for each tile type.
I would also argue that it’s even easier to edit and overview than clicking on each tile type in the editor.

1 Like

That’s what I’m doing now, however there are some issues for me. I have a very large master tileset for my maps, so if I go down a row it adds a large amount to the number which requires a calculator for me to accurately calculate. Also, if I update the tileset I must go through and update my scripts to include new entities that weren’t there previously instead of just checking if the tile is of a certain type which would make it only one place to change to add more content.

1 Like

I have found this easiest by simply storing metadata in a global Lua table, where each key corresponds to a tile id:

local data = { [1] = { metadata_entry_1 = <info>, ... }, ... }

I do not believe Defold should hold responsibility for storing tile metadata in the editor since this would cause all sorts of organizational problems which could be mitigated with a global Lua table.