Creating Fadein-Pause-Fadeout using GUI (SOLVED)

Hello!..I’m new to defold!..BTW i want to learn something about GUI and transition…can you tell me how can i make a simple fadein-pause-fadeout animation…i know already how to make a fade-in and fade-out transitions(thanks for some cool examples) but what i need is on how can i put a pause(probably 1-2sec) between the fadein and fadeout transitions?..any help is appreciated!..

here’s my code so far:

function init(self)

intro_fadein(self)
	intro_fadeout(self)	

end

function intro_fadein(self)
	for i=1,2 do
	gui.set_color(gui.get_node("intro"..i), vmath.vector4(1,1,1,0))
	gui.animate(gui.get_node("intro"..i), gui.PROP_COLOR, vmath.vector4(1,1,1,1), gui.EASING_LINEAR, 2.5, 0)
	end	
end

function intro_fadeout(self)
	for i=1,2 do
	gui.set_color(gui.get_node("intro"..i), vmath.vector4(1,1,1,1))
	gui.animate(gui.get_node("intro"..i), gui.PROP_COLOR, vmath.vector4(0,0,0,0), gui.EASING_LINEAR, 2.5, 0)
	end
end

The thing to understand here is that animations (and a great deal of other things) in Defold are asynchronous. That means that this code:

gui.animate(gui.get_node("intro"..i), gui.PROP_COLOR, vmath.vector4(1,1,1,1), gui.EASING_LINEAR, 2.5, 0)
gui.animate(gui.get_node("intro"..i), gui.PROP_COLOR, vmath.vector4(0,0,0,0), gui.EASING_LINEAR, 2.5, 0)

will not play one animation after the other. The call to gui.animate() will return immediately, even though the animation has not yet started. The engine then starts the animation at the end of the frame.

The way to get control back to the user is to provide callbacks. The user can send a function to the animation call, which will be called by the engine when the animation finishes. So in your case:

local function init(self)
  -- start fade in, which will then start fade out.
  intro_fadein(self)
end

local function intro_fadein(self)
  for i=1,2 do
    gui.set_color(gui.get_node("intro"..i), vmath.vector4(1,1,1,0))