Containers

Just a pretty general question about in-game containers (think chests, loot, inventory, etc.) I would like to know how you guys make containers so I could build off of an example. I’m not very good with this, so the most I could think of is to do something with tables, and then I get stuck and don’t know where to go. : /

Thank you ahead of time for any help. :3

Not sure if this still is a problem to you considering it was sent nearly a month ago, but if it is, there is a simply way to solve this. You can use “lists” to store every item. For example :

Inventory = {"Sword", "Banana", "Axe"}

and after setting up your list, you can add items to it by doing

table.insert(Inventory, [2], "Pickaxe")

where Inventory is your list, [2] is your position in the table (in this case it would go before banana and after sword, and if you don’t do anything for pos, it defaults to last), and “Pickaxe” is the item you are adding.

if you want to check what is in the 3rd slot you can do

if Inventory[3] == "Axe" then

which means “if the 3rd slot is the axe, then (enter following code on next line).”

And that’s about it!

3 Likes

It may be around a month ago, but sometimes problems remain problems.
Anyway, what I meant was while, yes, I am able to index an item, how am I supposed to have the game recognize what item it is?
I know Minecraft has something like tags, but I have no idea how to do that (probably subtables?)

(also thanks for the help)

I’m a bit confused on what you mean by “recognise.” Because I showed you that you can check if an inventory slot is an axe or a pickaxe, or any other item, so then the game can recognise it is there? I don’t fully understand your question, so please elaborate

1 Like

I meant that the game would be able to know what graphics to put for an item in a certain slot and its name with stats or whatever, like if it’s the same item but with, say, different origins or something.