Collections and Proxies in relation to Camera (SOLVED)

Hello Defold team and community. Ive been learning Defold for a little over a week and managed to make a fully playable simple infinite jump platformer which I plan to add to the community. Im a developer on Google play (CGC Creative) and was primarily using Eclipse to program with. My issue is however I have a menu screen and a game screen with are collection and have them loading and running successfully but I have a camera object that follows the player Y movement if he/she is in a certain threshold above the cameras Y position. the problem is that the background is parented to the camera on the game screen and it works fine but the background in the main menu gets shifted down whenever I go back to the main menu. I’m assuming both screens are using the same camera but I tried to move it down and even add another camera without any luck. How could I resolve this?

So the breakdown
What exactly is a collection doing?
Are they camera independent?

1 Like

A collection doesn’t actually exist at runtime. It’s just a container/collection of game objects that can be spawned using a collection factory, loaded using a collection proxy or added to another collection.

The camera component sends view and projection updates to the render script. If you’re using the default render script from builtins you’ll see in the on_message function something like this:

elseif message_id == hash("set_view_projection") then
    self.view = message.view
end

The set_view_projection message is sent by the camera component every frame and the render script uses this to decide what portion of the game world to render.