Clicking a game object

Hello,

I know that the question has already been asked several times and I first tried what was said in those topics. Although, it was too complicated.

I have a factory which creates several items over time. After a few seconds, it gets destroyed with go.delete(). What I want to do is to destroy the object once it’s clicked and send a message to an other game object.

The game is based on click and I thought that it was something which worked with the hitbox. I got told that it was the case because of the Z coordinate. I also got told that there were two ways to do that:

• Transform those game objetcs into GUI objects
  • Use an invisible object which follows the cursor and check the click and the collision

I tried also to understand the example for clicking objets but It’s complicated for me.

It is my first project and if I knew that hitboxes were not enough, I would have not chosen a game based on clicks or would have chosen a different engine for this project. As it’s started already, it is a good thing to continue and learn more :slight_smile: !

I would suggest trying the cursor and collisions. It’s not that hard. Here’s a library that will simplify it further:

Check the example in the library for usage.

1 Like

Hello,

First of all, thank you for your quick answer. I read several times the documentation you shared and also the example in my previous message. Although, I don’t realy get what has to been done. For example:

function init(self)
	msg.post(".", "acquire_input_focus")
	msg.post("@render:", "clear_color", { color = vmath.vector4(95 /256, 129 / 256, 161 / 256, 1 ) })
	go.set("go1#sprite", "scale", vmath.vector3(1.5, 1.5, 1))

goput.add("go1#sprite", nil, handle_click)
	goput.add("go2#sprite", nil, handle_click)
	goput.add("go3#sprite", nil, handle_click)
	goput.add("go4#sprite", nil, handle_click)
	goput.add("go5#sprite", vmath.vector3(100, 50, 0), handle_click)
end