Changing the Default Animation property in a GO Sprite from a script (SOLVED)

I have a GO that has a factory component that uses a sprite and I would like to dynamically change the Default Animation property from a script. The script is in the GO that contains the factory component. Currently I have a separate factory component for each sprite and it seems like there would be a better way to change the animation being used but I am new to Defold so I am kind of stuck.

I think you could use the “play_animation” from the sprite component… You would just have to put the id of the image you want to show (assuming that the atlas you’re using contains the image).

I thing that the magic link tutorial uses something like that, you could check it check it out.

Assuming that there a sprite element called sprite and there is an atlas element called foo1, the code would be something like:

msg.post("#sprite", "play_animation", {id = hash("foo1")})
2 Likes

That works great. I put that line of code into the init function of the object that contains the sprite and now each of the instances of the spawned sprite are of sprite “z”. However by changing the id value in the code it will spawn a different sprite each time. The source of my sprites is a tilesource, not an atlas - hopefully that doesn’t make a difference.

Here is the current code from my spawner script. It launches a different factory object for each sprite. I would like to do this with one factory by just changing the id as you showed above:

local keys = {"#a","#b","#c","#m","#n","#v","#x","#z"}
    local f = keys[math.random(1,8)]
    local id = factory.create(f, pos) 
    go.animate(id, "position", go.PLAYBACK_ONCE_FORWARD, dir, go.EASING_LINEAR, 5) 

I am not clear on how to indicate to the sprite object which image (anim) id to use from this point of the code. I assume I would use a msg.post but am not sure how to reference the receiver in this hierarchy.

You have a two options: