Boat Sim (2D Top down)

Hi,

This is my first project with Defold. Wanting to make a relaxing boat simulator game on top view.
I’m making the first steps after studying Defold tutorials:

boatsim_01

There is viscosity friction affected by the orientation of the boat. It should slide better moving forward, while having more resistance opposition from water when having lateral motion.

I used Linear Damping and Angular Damping to simulate the general friction of the movement in any direction, but calculated and applied the additional viscosity friction on every frame of the simulation.

You can play with the demo, compare behavior of the standard dynamic objects vs the green boat and read about the easy math behind, here on my blog.

18 Likes

One small step for a little boat, one giant leap for my app!

Oar simulation implemented! :smiley:
(Hope is ok to upload small <1mb videos here :roll_eyes: )

8 Likes

Main basic game mechanics done! :smiley:
Paddles are controlled using the thumbs. Multi-touch is a must.

7 Likes

you are doing fantastic things in 8 days with the engine :open_mouth:

1 Like

Thank you! I :smiley:

boatsim_camfollow
For today I made the camera follow the boat.
Using particles for the water sparkles that helps to see the motion.

4 Likes

With this first quick test level I could feel how is to rowing the boat for longer distances… and is actually fun!

Imagine that you can’t do collision with solid obstacles or your boat will crack, after 3 times you sink… that’s will add lot of tension to the game, and focus on precision and anticipation instead of high-peed.

Had a little dalay today of few ours because a little issue with float point precision…

6 Likes

Instant death would probably be better for ads if you are making the game to be f2p!

3 Likes

Oh! that’s the reason on mobile most games are instat-death! :smiley: Thanks for the tip, that proof my lack of experience with mobile games.

2 Likes