Bladeball - Devlog and tutorial by beginner

Hi, I am planning on making a series in which I will show how I made the game step-by-step.

Since I am also a beginner with very little experience in coding and making games, this series will be perfect for those who have just started out like me.
I’ll go over the various issues I’ve had and the confusion I’ve experienced while trying to learn how to code.
I will also discuss art and game design.

Do note that I am a beginner, so everything I wrote may not be good examples, especially the codes.

There are also posts on my Ko-Fi divided into chapters so everyone can follow along easier:

13 Likes

The Game:

Its resolution will be 128x128 pixels.

And there are multiple levels, traps, enemies, and a boss fight.

I am not sure about the goal and theme of the game yet, but that will come later, when I finish coding the game mechanics.

There will be a post about this in the future.

For now, the title of the game will be Blade Ball.

Because the player will use a wooden blade and ball to attack enemies, this name might change when I have better name ideas.

Blade:

The blade does not deal damage to enemies because it is made of wood, but it can be used to knock them back.

Its primary function will be to hit the ball and cause it to bounce more times.

Ball:

The player can create a magic ball that can bounce when it collides with a wall or the player’s wooden blade.

Unless you upgrade, there can only be one ball on the screen at a time.

Each time it bounces, the ball will become faster and deal more damage.

But it will explode when it hits an enemy.

This mechanic can be used by the player to one-shot bosses.

But I believe this will not break the game experience because this will require some skills since the ball will move very quickly. In fact, I had several upgrades planned to make it simpler for the player to take advantage of this mechanic.

Player: