Beginner with Defold - Need help with enemy movement script

Hi everyone this is my first time posting here because I’m pretty new to Defold and Lua. I’m trying to write a script for the enemy in my game (2D Top down rouge like). I’m trying to get the enemy to chase the player with the following code:

function update(self, dt)
	--for some reason pos DOES update every single frame but playerPos does NOT update every frame, only the first
	--if this gets fixed then the enemy moving towards player will work
	local playerPos = go.get_position("/player")
	local pos = go.get_position()
	print(playerPos)

--move up
	if pos.y<playerPos.y then
		self.vel.y = 40
	end
	--move down
	if pos.y > playerPos.y  then
		self.vel.y = -40
	end
	--move left
	if pos.x > playerPos.x then
		self.vel.x = -40
		sprite.set_hflip("#sprite", true)
	end
	--move right
	if pos.x < playerPos.x then
		self.vel.x = 40
		sprite.set_hflip("#sprite", false)
	end
	pos = pos + self.vel * dt
	go.set_position(pos)

self.vel.x = 0
	self.vel.y = 0
	self.correction = vmath.vector3()
end

When I print(pos) the enemy’s position is printed to console every frame. When I print(playerPos) it only prints the player’s initial position and does not update every frame. The enemy moves towards that initial position and then stops there. If anybody has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated!

Are you absolutely sure this is the player game object that you are moving? Could it be that you have nested game objects somehow or that the game object with id “/player” actually isn’t the correct one?

1 Like

I forgot to say Hi! Welcome to the forum!

1 Like

I am pretty sure because it prints out the location of the player’s initial position in the console. Are there any screenshots I can send that would help explain better?

Sure, show the Outline for the player and the collection it is in.

1 Like

Here you go :slight_smile: