Backend/server for mobile turn-based multiplayer game?

I just found out about defold 2 days ago, haven’t even downloaded it yet but it seems the best IDE for my use case. I wanna build a mobile multiplayer turn-based card game that is as simple as poker, nothing fancy, and I’ts played 2v2 and 1v1. I’d like to have the option for at least 50-100 concurrent games at launch, each game having either 2v2 or 1v1 players. Also, I’d like to implement ranked matchmaking as well as casual, and the ability for people on iOS to play with those on Android.
I have never touched networking for games and I need some guidance.
The game itself is really easy to code, that’s why i wanna work out the networking first… I’m gonna use defold 100% but can’t seem to find a good answers on backend/server/networking technology.

Now that you have context I’ll shoot a few questions:

• Since I’m a broke student all I could spend after launching the game is like 35$/month. Is that enough to have at least 50-100 concurrent games to be active? Is there anything that comes even close in this price range?
  • Can I use a random server provider but also use service like nakama to simplify the networking part.
  • For my use case what networking technologies would you suggest i use? Remember I wanna make ranked matchmaking along with casual, also in 1v1 and 2v2 modes.

Thank you for your time, and sorry for bad english.

1 Like

You mention Nakama and it is an excellent choice (an alternative would be Colyseus). You can definitely create what you describe using Nakama.

You should start by running the server on your local machine while developing the game. There’s no need to start paying for any kind of server hosting from the beginning. Setup for Nakama here:

https://heroiclabs.com/docs/nakama-download/

Once you need a server you can start small and use something like DigitalOcean or Heroku. Maybe @novabyte has some additional recommendations?

3 Likes