[ Android ] Game running extremely slow

Hello Defold community!

I’m a complete newbie, so please I’m sorry if I’m being too stupid :confused:

I’m creating a small flappy bird clone (wow, how original…) just to learn how to use the engine, but after building it and running on a Moto G2, I see the game is running super slowly.

It’s ok on Desktop, but I can’t figure out what’s wrong.

Thank you in advance, and again, sorry if it’s a stupid question.

1 Like

Awesome of you to give the engine a try!

Are you doing any animation yourself in the scripts update function? In that case make sure to use the delta time, dt, argument instead of a fixed step.

So instead of:

function update(self, dt)
    self.anim_value = self.anim_value + 1.0 
end

you would use dt instead:

self.anim_value = self.anim_value + dt
end

If you feel that the performance is the problem on the other hand, keep the calculations to a minimum inside the update functions since these are run each frame. Maybe try to rely on the built in gameobject/GUI animation system instead in cases where possible.

Let us know how it goes! :smile:

3 Likes

Welcome to Defold!

There are several things that may cause this. See Sven’s post for some tips. Another thing to watch out for is too many messages sent each frame. Mobile devices can easily choke on that. Some print() statements in the code can help see if that’s the problem.

Also, many layers of graphics can bee too much for the mobile’s graphics card to handle too.

Hope you find the issue, otherwise just drop another line and we’ll help you do some profiling.

Cheers,

Mikael

3 Likes

You’ve already received some nice tips from Sven and Mikael, but if you’re still not able to figure it out you might try:

• Use the visual or html profiler to figure out where the bottleneck is (scroll down on this page: http://www.defold.com/doc/debugging). Are you constantly above the frame budget? Is it the number of draw calls? Is it a script that takes too long?