Tip for Becoming a Better Game Developer

Hi all,

I released my first game on Steam back in March 2023 called Cx6. I had been using Defold for a couple years prior. While I was developing that game, I realized that there was a lot I didn’t understand about how game engines work behind the scenes. That lack of knowledge was limiting my ability to incorporate features into my projects that I really wanted to see come to life.

Here are some typical game features that I didn’t understand on a fundamental level, and therefore looked very confusing and foreign to me:

• Shaders of any kind. (GLSL? Uniform precision? Attributes? Weird pre-existing variables like gl_Position? Materials? Lighting? Shadows?)
  • 2D and 3D rendering. (OpenGL? OpenGL-ES? Only some versions are supported on different platforms? Rendering pipeline? Depth buffer? Blending? Framebuffers? Render textures? Difference between models, meshes, and sprites?)
  • Camera and viewport. (Rendercam is black magic? World, view, and projection matrices? Linear algebra? Screen-to-world and vice versa? How to draw to a specific part of the screen?)

…and of course, much more than that.

To remedy this, I invested about half a year into building my own small game engine that supports both 2D and 3D, using only C99 and OpenGL 4.6. I did not use any other third-party libraries, aside from loading PNGs. The hardest parts were researching, fully understanding, and implementing all of the required linear algebra and modern OpenGL rendering optimization strategies. I also found out just how difficult it is to generalize an engine for many different types of games, and how much more doable it would be to build a custom engine that focused primarily on just one type of game. Some engine design strategies aren’t easily generalizable. Some rendering and game-object-management designs work very well for certain use-cases, others not so much.