The Child of the Hill House (advjam2018)

Hello, I’m here again just to show something new I’ve done with you great engine - an adventure game (with a supernatural theme) done in only 14 days for AdvJam2018 (http://jams.gamejolt.io/advjam2018)

I was quite curious to see how I could work with your tool in a relatively strict time frame and so this year I’ve decided to try it for this jam (it was my third time, and I’ve never been able to submit a fully playable game in that range - till now)

I’ve just taken a couple of days to study my needs and to bootstrap an adventure point’n’click engine before the jam and after a quick test (and after seeing that Tiled could export data in a json format that was perfect for Defold) I started this project

I’m not a Lua expert (I’m a C/C++ coder) but using Defold as the base for the game engine was surely a good idea. I’ve changed a lot of things while I was proceeding with the game (I mean, I started with game script inside Tiled object properties, then I decided to have game scripts in a separate json file, then I saw I needed a more complex script engine for the game and I did it, then I rewrote it again to make it quicker to edit - and I’ve done all these things in 14 days, while I was also writing the story and creating the images and animation - this, and living, and working and so on, I mean, not exactly 14 full days of game programming)
I’ve also continued to change the engine adding features till the last day - and the reason I was able to do so is that your engine / lua script / gui system was solid and easy enough to limit the mess while I was writing and changing and writing again. With the fact that (for the first time for me) I wasn’t worried about the release of the game (because this was Defold task - I just needed to make everything right on PC, and then build for HTML5 - and Mac, as bonus)

Only two complaints: