The Belt

Hello,

I have been using the Defold Engine in my spare time for a few months. I had some animations left over from a game I made ages ago using Corona SDK, which I am reusing in this one.

The starting idea was to make a mobile shootemup game to run over WiFi where you mine asteroids for coins and then purchase waves of enemies to send against your opponent. You also get upgrades from mining the asteroids.

I have found it much easier to create a game with Defold as the features in general are geared to making a game quicker… with Corona previously I had to do a lot more to get things running. So this game looks much more polished than the corona game even at this early stage. So big thumbs up to you guys.

At the moment the multi player side is not working… so when you purchase an enemy it appears on your screen. Which is handy for testing. I love using the particle effects and making the ships explode.

I will add a video below… my first time using YouTube for this so hopefully will work…

Lots of things I want to do like adding in more post render effects, sound as there is none at the moment…

The video and game are a little choppy on windows… probably some wasteful code in there on my part. But it runs really well on the Android devices I have tried… no choppyness at all.

18 Likes

Nice work! How about some screen shake? I’d add the option to reduce the intensity / turn it off completely because some people don’t like it, but generally speaking I think some well placed screen shake can really lift the feel.

2 Likes

I like that idea… I must admit I don’t know how it would be achieved. Do I need a custom camera ?

That would be the easiest way. I recommend rendercam - it has screen shake functionality built in.

3 Likes

Looks great… love the smoothness of it. I agree that some screenshake and even some juiciness might make it go even more WOW.

Something I was prototyping recently:

sshooter5