Starting out with Defold and TypeScript

The Defold game engine has been in my bookmarks folder for months now, but I’ve only just recently started to make things with the engine. I’m a web dev as my day job, so I was drawn to the TypeScript community extension for Defold.

It turns out I’m more productive working on tools than games, so here’s what I’ve done so far:

• Created a TypeScriptToLua (TSTL) plugin that will strip the last extension from files that have multiple extensions. This is used to handle Defold’s specific file extensions, so a file name like player.script.ts is output to player.script instead of the incorrect player.script.lua. This plugin can replace the patch file that comes with ts-defold, so you’re not locked to using early versions of TSTL. (Link)
  • Tweaked the type definitions for the Defold game engine from ts-defold/types. I’ve been slowly describing more of the types that were left as unknown in the original output. I’m not sure how useful this is to the average developer, but I find it satisfying. (Link)
  • Created type definitions for britzl’s new boom framework. (Link)
  • Created a project template that includes all of the above. (Link)
  • Created type definitions for thejustinwalsh’s xmath framework. The comments are adapted from Defold’s vmath library, so I’m not sure they’re 100% accurate to xmath’s implementation, but they seem pretty close. (Link)
8 Likes

I also played around with using Chat-GPT to generate some native extensions. My C++ knowledge is limited, but I was able to cajole the AI into creating something that works.

• Math library with clamp and round functions (Link)

• String library with a variety of convenience methods (Link)

• PRNG library based on mulberry32 (Link)

There are already community extensions that cover these use cases, so I doubt my libraries will see much use. Still, it’s fun to see how easy it is to extend the engine, despite being a complete newcomer.