Space Steroids, a space adventure

Hello there,

I’m a young student from Germany, Dresden. After my first game written in Java, I decided to do another game! I was looking on different game engines and i bumped into Defold. So I started with the engine and I love it! I also invited a collegue, who studies on the same university. But let’s get to the game.

It’s a simple get as far as you can game in space. The working title was Space Steroids and it will probably stay this way :slight_smile: It’s done it in pixel art style, so far it was quite a challenge to build a united universe. So far you can play the actual game, but gameplay is still poor. We intend to ship it on Android in the new year.

Enough text. Here is a screenshot.

Devs:
Me, Vojta - Design, Programming
2nd Dev Tom - Programming, Project managment

Challenges:
So far, it was a challenge for me to create all graphic assets which works well together.
Also, I have a lot of experience from Java, but Lua was quite different and I needed quite some time to get used to it.
Last thing was getting well on with collection proxies and it’s lifecycle.

Next:

• Optimize Gameplay
  • Finish all the menu
  • Save highscores
  • Adjust to different densities
  • Parallax background
  • Sounds

It’s still quite a lot to do, but it’s slowly coming together.

I want to thank to Defold community, which helps a lot!

7 Likes

Looking forward to playing the finished game!

1 Like

What Britzl said – keep it up! :fist:

1 Like

Sunday evening and… Update!

We’ve been quite busy with other things, but yet progress has been made.

What’s new:

• New graphic assets
  • Fixed few bugs
  • Countdown in pause menu
  • New gas particles

Teaser:

4 Likes

Update!

It’s already 2 months since I posted last update, but I still continue to work on the game and slowly, it is coming together :slight_smile:

What’s new:

• Fixed quite a lot of bugs, visual and logical
  • There is new spawning mechanism for asteroids