I Made 24 Games In 24 Hours

I’ve been using Defold since the summer of 2018 and in that time I’ve made a lot of different projects. Ranging from games I’ve spent many months on to several projects I’ve made in just a few hours. In fact, I’ve gotten really good at spinning up 2d prototypes quickly. So, I decided to put my skills to the test and create 24 games in 24 hours.

The main rule I followed was “No Generative Ai”. No Ai code, art, ideas, or music. I did allow myself to repurpose existing art and code as long as I wasn’t just copying in an entire pre-existing game.

Here’s the game if you’d like to play it blind:

Here’s a video I made about my process. It’s a video focused more on entertainment, I’m planning to get a little more technical in this forum post.

Full Breakdown:

Rather then create and upload 24 separate projects, I decided to contain everything within one game. I went with the theme of an arcade since it seemed to naturally fit. This also allowed me to give a reward (tickets) from each of the minigames that the player can use in the arcade to buy items (mainly shirts from a prize counter).

I designed each of the 24 games to have a main menu, how to play, high score, and game over menu. I was able to make the high score / game over shared between all games and just populate them using an init script when the collection is loaded.

Recreating each of these levels by hand would take time and copying / pasting ran the risk of me missing something. Since Defold stores files in a readable text format, I was able to write a script in python to automate the creation of each level. The hardest part was getting the .collection to print correctly since there are several instances of the “\n” escape sequence. I discovered that I could put an “r” before a python text string which ignored that and entirely fixed the issue.