Humming Adventures - 2D infinite Survival Game

Hello all!

Let me first introduce myself,
I am an indie game dev who found a passion for games about 6 or 7 years ago. This passion developed through me actually playing games. I loved these games so much, I wanted to create some for my own. Here is a timeline of my dev adventures…

Early dev life
I started off on scratch, a MIT licences game making engine. There I learned a few tricks of the trade. I leaned how to set up conditional “if, then, else” functions, user input, and basic graphics. At this time I was going to many camps (yes I’m still a bit of a kiddo :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:) and learning new things with different engines and coding languages. At the time the engines were quite basic: Code.org, Khan Academy, etc. I also learned HTML, which I am proud to say that I am relatively fluent in now. These camps added to my current knowledge, and love of coding.

Next Steps
I thought I was ready. I was going to make the next big hit. So what did I do? I downloaded Unity3D, a massive 3D engine, responsible for creating some of today’s biggest hits. This was my first ever BIG mistake! Unity is a game engine mostly based in C++, and C#. It was an extremly complex software that had its own dedicated graphics editor/rendering system, and many more complex aspects. I was about ankle deep in Unity when I got completely discouraged. I was lost in the complex world of game dev. I didn’t know where to go, and what to turn to.

Recovery