How to move forward on a desired angle without vectors

Hey everyone! Just wanted to share some code I made. I’m very new to lua and defold so I want to be able to give back anything that I can to the community.

I am not sure if someone else has figured this out already, but in my game, I needed to give a game object a direction and have it move in that direction.

For example, 90 degrees would be something like

function init(self)
     xspeed = 1
     yspeed = 0
end

function update(self, dt)
     go.set(".", "position.x", (go.get(".", "position.x") + xspeed)
     go.set(".", "position,y", (go.get(".", "position.y") + yspeed
end

And 180 degrees would be

xspeed = 0
     yspeed = 1

But what about 45 degrees? You would think because its going towards the top left of the screen, it would be xspeed = 1 yspeed = 1 but that is incorrect because then whenever it travels towards the corners, it will travel faster than it would be if its going to the edges. How do we fix this? And how do we calculate all 360 degrees?

This problem took me a long time to figure out. After crawling the forums for hours, I found others with the same problem. Their solution was to use vectors, but I didn’t know how to use vectors because I didn’t understand quaternions. After a few hours on youtube trying to figure out quaternions, I figured, there must be a simpler solution for such a simple problem. All i want is the ball to move in a direction and the correct speed!

So… I asked one of my good friends what he thought. He’s good at math and he had a solution which was;
Cut the angles in to four quadrants, and manipulate each quadrant differently.

After a few hours of math later, I created this script:

go.property("ballrotprop", 0)
function init(self)
     xspeed = 0
     yspeed = 0
     ballrot = self.ballrotprop
end

--Makes 361 degrees = 1 degree
	if ballrot >= 360 then
		ballrot = ballrot - 360
	end
	if ballrot < 0 then
		ballrot = ballrot + 360
	end