How is audio exactly implemented?

Hi all,

I’m new to Defold and I’d like to contribute to the engine, especially to its audio implementation on Android and iOS. But I have a hard time figuring out how audio is implemented in Defold.

First of all: it seems that Defold uses multiple versions of OpenSL ES (in device_opensl.cpp and in opensl.c), and I don’t find a CoreAudio device for iOS except the openAL Alc backend coreaudio.c).

In sound.cpp I further find that the SoundSystem runs on its own thread and calls UpdateInternal to update the mixer. In sound.cpp I also find that the SoundSystem can be updated from the main thread via the Update function.

Coming from an audio programming background I am somewhat surprised since the audio systems on mobile run on a high-prio thread and provide the data in via a callback. I would therefore expect that the SoundSystem is updated via this callback. Something like

static void sound_mix(float* buffer, int samples)
{
	for (int i = 0; i < SOUNDS; i++)
	{
		if (sounds[i].state == STATE_PLAYING)
		{
			mix(buffer, &(sounds[i].source.buffer), samples);
		}
}

static void audio_callback(float* input, float* output, int samples)
{
	// from microphone
	input_filter(input, buffer, samples);

// mix with active sounds
	sound_mix(buffer, samples);

// post processing
	output_filter(buffer, samples);

// to speakers
	buffer_to_output(buffer, output, samples);
}

Could someone elaborate on this a bit? Thanks in advance!

4 Likes

Welcome! And yay, we really appreciate code contribution!

@JCash should be able to give you an explanation of the system tomorrow.

2 Likes

Hi @hakoptak!

We run the sound update on a thread on those platforms that support it. Html5 for instance is not threaded.
Both implementations use dmSound::UpdateInternal.

In Defold, we mix audio ourselves, and only use the native (e.g. OpenAL/OpenSL) api for queueing the sound buffers.

Each sound update we ask the native sound system if there are any free buffers.