Help building editor on Mac, Python 3 required?

I’m trying to build the editor on my Mac running Big Sur. When I try to grab external packages:

python2 ./scripts/build.py install_ext --platform=x86_64-darwin --package-path=./mystuff

I end up seeing lot of Python syntax errors, samples below.

File "build/bdist.macosx-11.2-x86_64/egg/pip/_internal/self_outdated_check.py", line 184
  pip_cmd = f"{sys.executable} -m pip"

File "/Users/martinfox/Programs/defold/defold/tmp/dynamo_home/ext/lib/python/pip-21.0.1-py2.7.egg/pip/_internal/configuration.py", line 167
  raise ConfigurationError(f"No such key - {key}")

All of the syntax errors involve f-strings which are a Python 3.6 feature according to my friendly neighborhood search engine (I’m not a Python coder). The Defold documentation states that the required Python version is 2.7.

(Note: I get the same problem if I drop the --platform option. And despite what the documentation shows the build.py script insists on having a --package-path specified.)

How do I get past this? Is the only option to install Python 3.6+?

No, don’t install Python 3. Have you followed all of the setup steps?

I believe I’ve followed the setup steps, there aren’t that many before invoking build.py to grab the external packages.

The same errors can be duplicated outside of the Defold build process, just try to install pip.

mkdir blah
PYTHONPATH=./blah python -m easy_install -d blah pip

On my Mac this command pulls down pip 21.0.1 which dropped support for Python 2 in January of this year.

Worked around this by altering build.py to explicitly request pip 20.3.4

run.env_command(self._form_env(), ['python', '-m', 'easy_install', '-q', '-d', join(self.ext, 'lib', 'python'), 'pip==20.3.4'])
2 Likes

Ah, good catch!
Sorry you had to deal with this!
At least it tells us that we’re being force to move towards python3 soon(-ish).

2 Likes

Do you want me to open an issue on this?