F18 Interceptor: Building my favorite old Amiga game

Demo WIP:

I was going to try to enter November’s game jam, but things became a little busy. Then, at the end of November, a couple of very awesome things happened. My birthday present came (a Commodore Amiga) and I started playing F18 Interceptor on it again. For those a little younger, here it is:

This is the demo mode, but it really is still now, one of my favorite games. There is something “just right” about everything they did in that game. The colors in the video are a little dartkened - not sure why.

With a little over a week of November game-jam left I thought, ok lets do a remake of this legend game in Defold. Obviously a bit of a cut down version, but something that maps to that game feel, that I just havent seen/played before (and I have played a couple of games :slight_smile: ).

Thats where this dev diary starts. And for the last week I have been building something interesting and fun. I’ll post updates, and info. The main aim of this dev is:

• Make a f18 sim / game in Defold that replicates the nice “feel” f18 had.
  • Keep the graphics in a similar style - no need for new graphics here. Simple 3D, simple colors.
  • A very simple set of “fun” missions. Like: Fly under the golden gate bridge (upside down too!), chase down and destroy a cruise missile, launch and land on carrier and a few others.
  • Possibly add in multiplayer using swampy (this would be fun!).

Current state of the game:

Just noticed my colors are a bit dark too. Will have to fix that.

Im pretty happy with the physics and controls. I’ll be adding in menus, missions and multiplayer over the coming days. Im actually excited to get in and play it :slight_smile:

29 Likes

Amazing! Such a great game too. Look forward to playing the Defold version.

3 Likes

that looks absolutely incredible!! Well done.

2 Likes

GREAT! I was playing on this game many, many hours :slight_smile:

4 Likes