Dungeon Stacker - the first Defold project

Hi there!

I’ve made a tiny game while learning the engine, you can play it here:
https://y444.itch.io/dungeon-stacker.

Below is a bit of backstory and my initial thoughts about Defold.

Background:

• I’m a game designer with no formal programming training and experience.
  • I always wanted to be able to prototype mechanics and make small games, mostly for my own pleasure.
  • I’ve started with Unity, as I had a lot of really experienced developers around who helped me.
  • I’ve made a number of prototypes and micro-games (you can also check a couple of them on my itch page.
  • After some time I felt that Unity is simply too much for my goals and has a few (personally) irritating things, starting from the overly-complicated animation flow to the editor’s RAM/CPU usage and the whole OOP thing that is really a pain to handle sometimes.

Why I ended up trying Defold:

• It looked cool.
  • It is mostly 2D oriented, which suited my needs.
  • It promised things that were really tempting: a very easy way to animate object properties, small build sizes, ability to build HTML5 games that work fine on mobile devices.

What I’ve discovered while learning the engine:

• Challenges
    • The editor itself is not that lightweight actually, especially on the older hardware.
    • Another thing with low-end hardware: the editor’s layout is really not suited for lower resolutions, using it on a 1366x768 screen on a laptop is a pain, as I have to toggle panels in order to maximize space.
    • After being spoiled with auto-completion and other nifty stuff in VSCode, so the built-in code editor seems a bit bare bones.
    • Having knowingly ditched C# in favor of Lua I faced with the fact that I don’t really know how to properly handle data and pass it to different parts of the system. I also suspect that Lua can be used in a much more effective and elegant way that I managed to do it.