Defold not running on Windows 7 x64 (SOLVED)

Hi, I am new to Defold and I have downloaded the editor but for some reason it does not show up. In task manager I can clearly see that it is running but nothing is showing up, not even a single error or anything.

System I am running is Window 7 Professional 64-bit
Defold is located in this path directory : C:\Program Files (x86)\Defold
I have tried reinstalling Java JRE ( not sure if that would help anyway) and still no results.

Seems I’m the first person with this problem and would really appreciate if someone would help me with it as I am really interested in checking this engine out.

Thank you.

1 Like

It could be the spaces in the path, namely the ones in “Program Files (x86)”. Could you try, just to verify, to put it in C:\Defold or something similar (ie. without spaces)? :slight_smile:

Just changed it to C:\Defold and get same result as nothing is showing up.

Side note: Thanks for quick reply!

1 Like

Darnit! :slight_smile: Could you check what the file Defold/workspace/.metadata/.log says?

I have no clue what could be wrong based on that log file but here’s Whole log from that file.

1 Like

Strange, I’m not sure the output of that file actually gave me much to go on… Hm, did you try force-closing the running instance before restarting it? Do you have more than one display? (Since it’s not a crash, the editor just does not show, maybe it could have something to do with different desktops/displays.)

One more thing to try; remove the .metadata folder inside your workspace directory. Or preferably, download the editor once again and unzip into a path without spaces. This should, I think, result in a fresh install.